2018 F1 calendar formally approved

f1 agp

pic: Australian Grand Prix Corp

The 2018 Formula 1 calendar has been formally approved by the FIA and World Motor Sport Council.

Next year’s championship, which was provisionally revealed in June of 2017, will take place across 21 rounds and the same number of countries, while the March 25 date has been officially locked in for the traditional, season opening Australian Grand Prix.

A return of the French Grand Prix has also been confirmed for the first time since 2008 at the Le Castellet circuit in the countries’ south, taking place on June 24.

The German Grand Prix will also return in 2018, after an absence from the calendar this year due to economic difficulties, with a July 22 date fixed for next year at Hockenheim.

The season, which will span over a total of 35 weeks, kicks off on Australian soil at Melbourne’s Albert Park Circuit in March before concluding at Abu Dhabi on November 25.

The 2018 calendar in full:
Date Venue Formula 1 Grand Prix
25 March Melbourne Australia
8 April Sakhir Bahrain
15 April Shanghai China
29 April Baku Azerbaijan
13 May Barcelona Spain
27 May Monaco Monaco
10 June Montreal Canada
24 June Le Castellet France
1 July Spielberg Austria
8 July Silverstone Great Britain
22 July Hockenheim Germany
29 July Budapest Hungary
26 August Spa-Francorchamps Belgium
2 September Monza Italy
16 September Singapore Singapore
30 September Sochi Russia
7 October Suzuka Japan
21 October Austin USA
28 October Mexico City Mexico
11 November Sao Paulo Brazil
25 November Yas Marina Abu Dhabi