New formats and venue headline 2018 Carrera Cup Aus calendar


Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia will feature an expansion to the Endurance Cup and return of Porsche Carrera Cup Asia as part of an 8 round 2018 calendar.

The series, featuring a new specification car next year, will also visit a new venue in the shape of South Australia’s The Bend Motorsport Park, while making an annual appearance at the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix.

The expanded Endurance Cup element will move from three races this year at Sandown, Bathurst and the Gold Coast, to six 45-minute races in 2018.

Hidden Valley Raceway (Darwin) and The Bend join the Endurance Cup roster for 2018, while Bathurst and the Gold Coast retain their slots, all hosting one enduro race each.

Phillip Island, meanwhile, will enjoy two of the Endurance Cup races to make up for the series’ traditional two-driver Pro-Am format round, which has been dropped for 2018 – previously held at the same venue in 2017.

A special joint round with Carrera Cup Australia and counterparts, Carrera Cup Asia, will also feature in 2018 at Supercars’ Red Rooster Sydney SuperNight 300 from August 3-4.

This will be the third time the two series have combined for a double header event following successful rounds at Sydney Motorsport Park in 2016 and Malaysia’s Sepang International Circuit in 2017.

The 2018 season will begin at the Adelaide 500 from March 1-4, before travelling to the Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix later in the month.

Phillip Island will host Round 3, ahead of Darwin’s Hidden Valley, Sydney Motorsport Park, The Bend Motorsport Park, Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, and the final round at the Vodafone Gold Coast 600 in October.

2018 will also be the first time since 2012 the popular one make series has exclusively raced only on the Supercars Championship and Formula 1 support bill.

Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia 2018 Race Calendar

Round 1 Adelaide 500 Adelaide, SA – March 1-4
Round 2 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix Melbourne, Vic – March 22-25
Round 3 WD-40 Phillip Island 500 Phillip Island, Vic – April 20-22
Round 4 CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown Darwin, NT – June 15-17
Round 5 Red Rooster Sydney SuperSprint Sydney, NSW – August 3-4
Round 6 The Bend SuperSprint Tailem Bend, SA – August 24-26
Round 7 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Bathurst, NSW – October 4-7
Round 8 Vodafone Gold Coast 600 Gold Coast, Qld – October 19-21