Grid set for Highlands 501


The entry list for this weekend’s Highlands 501 has been released ahead of an action packed Australian Endurance Championship season finale in which the title will be decided.

The event will be Australian GT’s last visit to the Highlands Motorsport Park, marking the end of an era for the category at the incredible South Island venue in New Zealand’s Central Otago.

Valvoline Jamec Pem Racing’s Tim Miles and Jaxon Evans currently lead the championship standings by 76-points over the Autex Eggleston Motorsport Mercedes-AMG pairing of Dominic Storey and Peter Hackett, who are fresh off victory in the previous round at Hampton Downs.

Hackett and Storey moved up into second place in the standings after their win at Hampton Downs, leaping the Mega Racing Porsche duo of Liam Talbot and John Martin, following a tough outing for the latter pairing at Round 3 of the series.

The top three all arrive at Highlands well in contention for the championship, with 240-points on offer over the 3-day weekend, all contributing to what will be a nail bitting finale.

Alongside them this weekend will be a stellar grid of fellow competitors, including Supercars Red Bull Racing Australia driver Shane van Gisbergen who will partner drift star ‘Mad Mike’ Whiddet aboard the #77 Darell Lea McLaren 650s GT3.

Justin McMillan and Glen Wood are a new addition for this weekend, sharing the #48 M Motorsport – Interlloy Lamborghini RE-X.

Fraser Ross will again pilot the YNA Autosport/McElrea Racing McLaren with Factory McLaren GT driver Alvaro Parente, while Andrew Bagnall and Matt Halliday again pair up in the sole International Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3.

The rest of the field is rounded out by the usual event entrants.

Car number Driver A Driver B Team Car
#6 Adrian Deitz Cameron McConville Timken, Zagame Autosport Lamborghini Huracan GT3
#7 Tony Quinn Andrew Waite Darell Lea McLaren 650s GT3
#8 Max Twigg Tony D’Alberto Waste Management Mercedes AMG GT3
#19 Mark Griffith Scott Hookey Hogs Breath Café/Griffith Corporation Mercedes AMG GT3
#23 Roger Lago David Russell Lago Racing Lamborghini RE-X
#48 Justin McMillan Glen Wood M Motorsport – Interlloy Lamborghini RE-X
#51 Andrew Macpherson Brad Shiels AMAC Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3-R
#58 Fraser Ross Alvaro Parente YNA Autosport/McElrea Racing McLaren 650s GT3
#63 Peter Hackett Dominic Storey Autex, Eggleston Motorsport Mercedes AMG GT3
#75 Tim Miles Jaxon Evans Jamec Pem Racing Audi R8 LMS GT3
#77 Mad Mike Whiddet Shane van Gisbergen Darell Lea McLaren 650s GT3
#100 Steven Richards Dylan O’Keeffe BMW Team SRM BMW M6 GT3
#911 Liam Talbot John Martin Mega Racing Porsche 911 GT3-R
#82 Andrew Bagnall Matt Halliday International Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3