Talbot/Martin Porsche takes Hampton Downs pole in Top 10 Shootout


Liam Talbot and John Martin have secured pole position for tomorrow’s Hampton Downs 500 after Martin set the quickest time in the Top 10 Shootout aboard the Mega Racing Porsche.

The Walkinshaw run squad were the last to set their lap in the shootout after qualifying on provisional pole in the earlier sessions.

Martin wrestled his Porsche around the 3.8km circuit to set a 1:43.409 in tricky wet conditions, eclipsing the previous best lap by 0.05s, which was set by Alvaro Parente in the YNA Autosport McLaren 650s GT3.

Parente’s 1:43.451 was good enough to hand him and co-driver Fraser Ross second place and a front row start for tomorrow’s 500km race.

Peter Hackett and Dominic Storey will set off from third in the Autex/Eggleston Motorsport Mercedes AMG GT3, after the later set a 1:44.790 to put them on the second row.

Starting alongside will be Andrew Macpherson and Brad Shiels in the AMAC Motorsport Porsche, with Shiels – the first car out – lapping the venue in 1:45.218 to land them in a brilliant fourth position.

Neil Foster and co-driver Jonny Reid will start their Giltrap sponsored Audi R8 LMS Ultra from fifth place with a 1:45.279, while Max Twigg and Tony D’Alberto set off from sixth in the Waste Management Mercedes (1:46.504).

The Laser Racing BMW M6 GT3 of Steven Richards and Dylan O’Keeffe qualified seventh fastest, after the former, who was the sixth car out, set a 1:46.772.

Eighth was the local John Udy/Matt Whittaker driven Audi, followed by the Adrian Deitz and Cameron McConville steered Timken/Zagame Autosport Lamborghini Huracan, with McConville setting the 1:48.327 which placed that car ninth on the grid.

The tenth car that was supposed to take part in the Top 10 shootout was the Valvoline, Jamec Pem Audi of Tim Miles and Jaxon Evans – but a crash for Miles in the preceding Qualifying session, meant the crew couldn’t get the R8 repaired in time to take part in the shootout.

Laser Plumbing & Electrical Hampton Downs 500, top-10 shootout results:

Note: First driver set the time

1. John Martin/Liam Talbot  1:43.409
2. Álvaro Parente/Fraser Ross  1:43.451
3. Dominic Storey/Peter Hackett  1:44.790
4. Brad Shiels/Andrew Macpherson  1:45.218
5. Jonny Reid/Neil Foster  1:45.279
6. Tony D’Alberto/Max Twigg  1:46.504
7. Steven Richards/Dylan O’Keeffe  1:46.772
8. Matt Whittaker/John Udy  1:47.478
9. Cameron McConville/Adrian Deitz  1:48.327
10. Jaxon Evans/Tim Miles NO TIME