Heimgartner charges to Carrera Cup Race 2 win

Round 8 of the 2017 Porsche Carrera Cup

Andre Heimgartner has taken victory in Race 2 of Porsche Carrera Cup Australia on the Gold Coast, taking the championship battle down to the last race.

The Melbourne based driver took the lead off the start and controlled things from there, unchallenged by second placed Jaxon Evans, while Alex Davison claimed the Endurance Cup by 0.028s.

Heimgartner’s Sonic Motor Racing team mate Nick McBride ran through the escape road on the opening lap, and so did Carrera Challenge class pole-man Stephen Grove, who was turned around at Turn 4 by class companion Max Twigg.

Both cars sustained damage, but managed to crawl back to the pits as Dean Cook assumed the Challenge class lead before being passed by Sam Shahin on lap 8.

Heimgartner and Evans began to lap rapidly, opening up a gap the rest of the field, with David Wall the next best placed car in third.

Cook re-took the class lead when Shahin had a huge moment at the beach chicane, pirouetting across the tarmac after collecting too much kerb, but he kept the car out of the fence, with Marc Cini also seizing second place in class.

A furious battle pack formed behind Wall, consisting of Cameron McConville, Dylan O’Keeffe, Michael Almond, McBride and Davison who sat eighth.

Davison made a move on McBride for seventh, while ahead, Almond got by O’Keeffe for fifth, both on lap number 15.

Almond then closed up on McConville, lunging up the inside at Turn 11 for fourth place, before O’Keeffe and Davison followed him through at Turn 4 a lap later.

Wall lost third place on lap 25 when he got caught up behind a back marker, with both Almond and Davison finding a way by on the Sydney-sider.

Out front though, Heimgartner made zero mistakes and crossed the line 6.8s seconds ahead of Evans.

Davison rounded out the top three, finishing just 0.028s in front of Almond with a drag race out of the final corner to the line ending in the former’s favour.

Wall held onto fifth, from O’Keeffe, McConville, McBride and Jordan Love, with James Abela rounding out the top ten.

Garth Walden finished 11th, followed Brenton Grove and Simon Ellingham with Dean Cook claiming the Challenge class victory.