Shannons Wrap: Sherrin’s claim dominant victory in Phillip Island 4Hr

Australian Production Car Series

Grant and Iain Sherrin have taken their first win in the Australian Production Car Series after dominating in Sunday’s Phillip Island 4 Hour.

The Sherrin brothers over came multiple set backs, bouncing back from a puncture on Lap 12 and a limp mode glitch to reclaim the lead and ultimately take the victory.

Second place went to Chris Lillis and Nathan Callaghan in their Class A2 Holden HSV GTS, who survived a late push from Tyler Everingham in the Class C Renault Megane.

Everingham and co-driver Calum Jones’ hopes of finishing runner up were robbed when the race went into a time certain finish, Everingham behind the wheel was unable to make a move before the chequered flag, the young duo settling for third spot.

Michael Auld and Richard Bloomfield took out the Class B honours in a Holden VE HSV, as the Blake and Kyle Aubin brothers won Class D in their Renault Clio.

A red flag sequence punctuated the race when Peter Sortwell found the fence at turn two in his Suzuki Swift, the field spent a total of 10-minutes stopped on the Gardner straight with the tyre barriers needing repairs in the Southern Loop.

George Miedecke led the race in the opening stages, despite his Ford Falcon – which he shared with Jeremy Gray – dropping a cylinder on lap one. This proved decisive and terminal for the pairing who retired on lap 42.

Polesitter’s Rick Bates and Bob Pearson never took the start with their Mitsubishi EVO X ruled out with a gearbox issue after the Warm Up session.

The final round of the Australian Production Car Series takes place at Wakefield Park on November 17-19.


Kumho V8 Touring Car Series

Jon McCorkindale and Michael Anderson have taken their first ever victories in the Kumho V8 Touring Car Series after a wet day at Phillip Island.

Heavy rain dominated Sunday with McCorkindale emerging as the winner in race two, the Ford Falcon driver was on the right tyre at the right time when the weather was at its worst.

Championship leader Tyler Greenbury had a tough day at the Island, struggling in race two’s treacherous conditions after his pole position start, dropping down to fifth place by the time the chequered flag was in the air.

Michael Caine claimed second place in race two ahead of Jack Smith and Chris Smerdon.

The circuit dried out sightly for race three, but Greenbury’s day went from bad to worse when the youngster suffered a tyre failure at high speed.

Greenbury’s Holden Commordore speared across the damp grass on the outside of turn three, pirouetting all the way down to Honda corner where he collected the at the time race leader, Smith.

Both drivers’ races ended on the spot, but it was Anderson who swept through to take the victory in race three ahead of McCorkindale and Smerdon in third.

The fifth and final round takes place at Sydney Motorsport Park on October 27-29.


Australian Prototype Series

The first ever APS has been won by Mark Laucke in his West WX10 after he sealed the deal at Phillip Island in the final round, claiming the championship.

Laucke however had a weekend of mixed emotions, ending race two on Sunday morning in last before climbing back through the field to second in race three’s dry conditions.

Phil Hughes placed first in race two, winning by a margin of 11-seconds over Chris Sutton as David Crampton rounded out the race two podium.

Aaron Steer won race three, which saw Hughes drop to fourth behind Terry Peovitis in third, and championship winner Laucke in second.

Huges secured the round win, a result of his victories in the first two races of the weekend.

Earlier in the weekend, Jordan Love took out the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge championship, winning both races one and two, while Brenton Grove took the victory in race three and second in the championship. Anthony Gilbertson took out the Elite class championship title despite a crash with his rival Sam Shahin in race three.

Race two of the Australian GT Trophy Series was won by Steve McLaughlan, with the championship of the Trophy Series set to go down to the wire at Wakefield Park later in the year. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s