Daytona Sportscar team to enter two cars in next years B12HR

The Daytona Sportscar team are aiming to enter two cars at next years Liqui Moly Bathurst 12 Hour, taking on the Invitational class with all their might.

Since their debut at the 2013 edition of the Bathurst 12 Hour, the Melbourne based team have been recognised on a global scale for their iconic Chevrolet powered Daytona Coupe, before introducing a Dodge Viper Competition coupe at this years race.

In 2018 however, the team are taking it to another level and running both cars at next years Mt Panorama endurance classic.

Jamie Augustine, who is a familiar face within the team, as well as a long time driver of the cars; says that they are well underway with preparations for next years race, but yet to confirm driver line ups.

“Both cars are already being prepared for the event with fresh running gear and the appropriate updates for the 12 hour.

“Both of these cars are capable of lapping in the sub 2:10 times with the right driver, and either car is a contender for a class win and a top 15 outright if all goes well.

“The Team is an experienced endurance racing team with members from Formula 1, V8 Supercars, and the professional motorsport industry.”

The Victorian outfit has not only got a cult following for their unique approach to each event in bringing a different car to the norm, but also hold bragging rights for the fastest car at the 2016 event down Conrod straight, with the Coupe at one pointed clocked at 307km/h while passing world class GT3 machinery.

Next years Invitational class is shaping up to be a hotly contested grid, with a collection of MARC Cars Australia entries expected to be confirmed in the coming months, on top of the pair of Daytona’s.

The Invitational class (or Class I) is solely designated for for production-based or purpose-built endurance specials.

This years edition saw the MARC Car combination of Will Brown, Keith Kassulke and Rod Salon take a narrow victory, with the Daytona team finishing sixth in class and 29th outright with drivers Augustine, Ben Schoots, and Dean Lillie.

The 2018 Bathurst 12 Hour will take place from February 2-4.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s