Support wrap SMP: Talbot and Martin on pole for AEC 501

Australian [GT] Endurance Championship:

Qualifying 1:

South African Audi gun, Kelvin van der Linde topped the first of the wind battered Qualifying sessions with a 1:28.447.

The factory Audi driver went head to head with the Autex Mercedes-AMG GT3 of Dominic Storey as the two drivers tussled it out for the fastest lap.

Van der Linde secured the three fastest times in the session, finishing a mere 0.046 ahead of the Eggleston Motorsport Mercedes.

Jaxon Evans took the other Valvoline Jamec Pem Audi to third fastest while Tony D’Alberto finished up fourth in the Waste Management Mercedes.

The Mega Racing Porsche of John Martin took out fifth place just 0.5 seconds off the pace.

Qualifying 2:

As the second drivers rolled out for Qualifying 2, the wind became even stronger, especially on the run down the main straight and into turn one.

Liam Talbot was the early pace setter in the Mega Racing Porsche, going straight to the top of the time sheets.

Fraser Ross then punched in the fastest time in his Total Opti-Coat, YNA Autosports McLaren 650s GT3 setting a 1:30.8.

Once the 20-minute session had elapsed, it was the Walkinshaw GT3 Porsche of Liam Talbot that had secured the fastest time of the session, setting a 1:29.021.

The #911 car also secured the fastest average lap time from the two Qualifying sessions and will start from pole in tomorrows 501km race.

Dylan O’Keefe grabbed the second fastest lap of the session in the KFC Audi R8 LMS while Fraser Ross finished third.

The Waste Management Mercedes of Max Twigg took out fourth place and Peter Hackett rounded out the top five in the Autex Mercedes.

The 129 lap, Australian Endurance Championship, Sydney Motorsport Park 501 will start at 7:35am AEST tomorrow morning (Saturday).


Formula Four:

Cameron Shields has Qualified on pole position for tomorrows 2017 CAMS Jayco Formula Four race.

Remarkably, Shields scored pole despite watching nearly half the session from the other side of the fence when he spun and ground to a halt at turn four.

The Queensland driver set an early fast lap in an extremely windy session, edging out rival Nick Rowe, and claiming his third pole this year.

Rowe will start from second place while the Zagame Motorsports car of Tyler Everingham took out and impressive third position ahead of Sage Murdoch in fourth.

Saturday’s 12 lap race will start at 12:20pm AEST.


Toyota 86 Racing Series:

Ben Grice will start from pole position tomorrow, in race one of the Toyota 86 Racing Series, out-qualifying Cameron Hill by 0.025s.

The pair are a full one second ahead of third placed Trent Grubel, both lapping consistently quickly throughout the 15-minute session.

Aaron Seton qualified in fourth place while Tim Brook rounded out the top five in the Ultimate Karting Sydney entry.

Race one for the Toyota 86 Racing Series will begin at 14:35 AEST as the 33 car strong field set off for their 10-lap race.

Screen Shot 2017-08-18 at 7.35.39 pm.png

Aussie Racing Cars:

James Duckworth has scored pole position for the fifth round of the Aussie Racing Car Series.

Duckworth set a quick lap at the halfway mark and would not be eclipsed again, earning pole with a 1:43.290.

Kel Treseder grabbed second position and will start on the front in tomorrow’s race one while Peter Carr and Craig Woods took out third and fourth respectively.

An incident involving Woods and Blake Sciberras unfolded at the 10-minute mark after the two drivers came together at turn three. Both cars would rejoin the circuit.


IMAGES: and Australian GT


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s